top of page
Search

Marble Mazes

Updated: May 27, 2019

Marble mazes are a(MAZE)ing.


For my first project, I tried somethings simple, low-cost, and very fun for the kids! I found this project online and was so excited to try it with the students.


Time: 45 minutes to 1 hour


Materials

  • Paper plates (ones with high edges work best)

  • Scissors

  • Construction paper

  • Tape

  • Markers and pencils

  • Marbles

  • Wikki stix, pipe cleaners, straws

Directions

  1. Give each child one paper plate and access to the wikki stix, pipe cleaners, and straws. I recommend that you have the kids outline their course with a pencil beforehand (to make taping the supplies on the plate easier), Show the kids how to create simple arches using construction paper, etc.

  2. Let the kids get busy creating and testing out their mazes with marbles.

Lessons Learned

Since this was my first project, I came across a few road blocks. First off, it was a bit of a struggle helping the kids get pieces of tape. So, next time, I would definitely have tape pre-cut to easily hand out for the kids to use. I also think I should have taken more time showing the kids how to make certain structures and lay out their tracks--it seemed like they were having trouble with that at the beginning. Overall, however, the kids loved the project, and when I went back two weeks later, they were asking to do it again.







Comments


bottom of page